Arizona, Maryland Added to NY’s COVID-19 Travel Advisory; No Areas Are Removed

Governor Andrew Cuomo announced Tuesday afternoon that two more areas have been added to New York’s travel advisory list: Arizona and Maryland. Both states meeting the rolling-average threshold required to institute a mandated 14-day quarantine for travelers from those areas.

New Jersey and Connecticut also hit the benchmark to require mandatory quarantine, Cuomo said, but according to a press release from the Governor’s Office this would be ill-advised, stating, “Given the interconnected nature of the region and mode of transport between us, a quarantine on these states is not practically viable. That said, New York State highly discourages, to the extent practical, non-essential travel to and from these states while they meet the travel advisory criteria.

New York’s Current Travel Advisory List: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Guam, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Wisconsin, West Virginia and Wyoming.